Chugoku Region

Discover the wonders of Chugoku, a captivating region in western Japan. From the historic significance of Hiroshima's Peace Memorial Park to the timeless beauty of Okayama's Korakuen Garden, Chugoku offers a rich blend of history, culture, and natural splendor. Explore the iconic Akiyoshidai Plateau in Yamaguchi and the breathtaking sand dunes of Tottori. Immerse yourself in the traditions, festivals, and local flavors that make Chugoku a truly enchanting destination. Plan your journey through this diverse and vibrant region, where ancient landmarks and modern marvels await at every turn.

Each prefecture


Hiroshima, in western Japan, was the site of the first atomic bomb attack in 1945. It's now a symbol of peace with the Peace Memorial Park and Atomic Bomb Dome. The city offers cultural sites like Hiroshima Castle and a thriving food scene.


Okayama, in western Japan, boasts scenic landscapes, historic sites like Korakuen Garden and Okayama Castle, and a blend of tradition and modernity reflected in its local culture and cuisine.


Yamaguchi, in western Japan, is celebrated for its history, cultural sites, and natural beauty. Highlights include Akiyoshidai Plateau, Tsunoshima Bridge, and the historic Ruriko-ji Temple. The region's traditions, festivals, and local food are also enticing.


Shimane, located in western Japan, is renowned for its deep cultural roots and natural wonders. It boasts ancient shrines like Izumo Taisha, stunning landscapes like Matsue Castle, and the captivating Oki Islands. Traditional arts, folklore, and local festivals enrich its identity.


Tottori, situated in western Japan, is known for its unique sand dunes, beautiful coastal scenery, and historic attractions. The Tottori Sand Dunes, Sand Museum, and Uradome Coast are popular spots. The city offers a blend of nature and culture, making it a charming destination.

Local Activities by Region

Discover the rich diversity of Japan's cultural offerings and experiences through our curated list of activities in each prefecture. Whether you're drawn to bustling urban adventures, serene natural escapes, or unique cultural encounters, our region-specific links will guide you to the heart of each destination's charm.

Northern Region

Hokkaido, Aomori, Akita, Iwate, Miyagi, Yamagata, Fukushima

Kanto Region

Tokyo, Kanagawa, Chiba, Saitama, Gunma, Tochigi, Ibaraki

Chubu Region

Nagano, Niigata, Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui, Yamanashi, Shizuoka, Aichi, Gifu

Kansai Region

Osaka, Kyoto, Hyogo, Nara, Wakayama, Shiga, Mie

Chugoku Region

Hiroshima, Okayama, Yamaguchi, Shimane, Tottori

Shikoku Region

Kagawa, Tokushima, Ehime, Kochi

Kyushu Region

Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki, Kagoshima

Okinawa Region

Okinawa Prefecture